Cabinet okays amendments to DRDA bylaws


IMPHAL, Oct 19: The state cabinet meeting held this evening under the chair of chief minister Okram Ibobi has approved the amendment of bylaws of District Rural Development Agency (DRDA) for the purpose of appointing the chairmen of ADCs as the chairmen of DRDA of the hill districts of the state.
The spokesperson of SPF government N Biren, told media persons that the cabinet decision further mentioned that both chairmen of Senapati ADC and Sadar Hills ADC shall be made the co-chairman of DRDA of Senapati district.
The recommendations of the Hill Areas Committee of Manipur State Legislative Assembly regarding the devolution of power to the six  ADCs of the state was thoroughly discussed in today’s cabinet meeting and it was decided that the concerned ministers and officials of 26 departments which come under the provision of devolution of power should submit a final report on this matter.
The devolution of power to the ADCs will be done with respect to Manipur Hill Areas Act, 3rd Amendment of 2008.
The cabinet also approved the deputation of six supertime selection grade IAS officers as the chief executive officers (CEOs) of the six ADCs of the state.
Further, the cabinet decided to give 10 percent dearness allowance (DA) to the state employees and pensioners from November 1 onwards and also approved the draft rules for providing free and compulsory education under the Right to Education Act, 2009.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here