Stringent security arrangement implemented for bye-election counting


IMPHAL, Feb 14: In order to ensure smooth counting of votes of the ensuing Bye-Election to 18-Konthoujam Assembly Constituency, stringent security measure has been implemented in and around the Deputy Commissioner`s Imphal West office complex, with effect from 7 pm of February, 16 to 12 Noon of February 17, 2011.

An order of the district election officer, Imphal West, K. Radhakumar, informed that only officially categorized (election commission) persons would be allowed to enter the office complex of the Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West.

Detailing the authorized entry and exit of officials and vehicles within the period, it said that categorized persons are the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur, Election Observers & their Liaison Officers and Micro Observers, District Election Officer (DC), Imphal West District, Returning Officcr(SDO/Patsoi), Assistant Returning Officer (SDC/Konthoujam), SDC/Patsoi and Election Officer, Imphal West, Candidates, their Ejection Agents and Counting Agents. (They shall produce Identity Cards issued by the RO/AROs concerned when asked by the Security Personnel on duty), Officers and Officials of DEO, RO, AROs detailed for Counting-duty holding Identity Cards issued by DEO, RO.

Persons authorized by the Election Commission of India holding Letter of Authority, Persons authorized by the DEO, RO., counting supervisors, counting assistants, additional counting assistants, counting peons appointed by the DEO/RO holding photo identity cards issued by the DEO (DC) and RO(SDO), persons holding Postal Ballot Papers for delivery to SDO(RO)/Patsoi up to 7.45 am of February 17 at the Southern Gate(Main Gate Point) only where the Staff in-charge for receipt of Postal Ballot Papers will be on duty, police officers and personnel detailed for the counting.

Further, the entry of the counting agents shall be so regulated as to ensure that there shall be 11 (eleven) counting agents for each of the 3 (three) candidates at any point of time, i.e. at one counting agent for each counting table and one for RO`s table to watch counting of postal ballot papers.

Vehicles for the officers/officials mentioned shall be parked in the office complex of Excise and Co-op, department.

No vehicle except for the mentioned categories of persons shall be allowed entry beyond the Laishram Leirak Point and NG College Point, it said.

All the officers, officials and vehicles belonging to the Election Department, Directorate of Settlement & Land Records and Directorate of Employment, Exchange, Manipur and private vehicles and public going to Langol Games Villages from Imphal Kangchup Road shall pass through the Chingangbam Leirak/Mohon Motor Workshop Leirak.

Nobody except the Security Personnel on duty should be allowed to, carry arms and ammunition inside the above office complex.

No match box, inflammable substance, stick, knife, blade or any other sharp instrument etc. which may be used as weapon should be allowed to be taken inside the above office complex.

Any entry inside the office building should be only through the main entrance at the ground floor of the block “H” of the office complex. All the other entry points are to be kept under lock and key, added the order.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here