Home News Headlines

New NSA advisory board chairman conducts first NSA undertrial sitting

IMPHAL, June 30: Following the completion of term of justice (retd) Rajkhowa as chairman of the state NSA advisory board recently, justice (retd) and former chief justice Guwahati High Court, RK Manisana has been appointed as chairman of the state NSA board by the state government.

In the meantime, the first sittings of sate NSA board with new chairman was convened at 12.30 pm of June 23 in the office of the Central Jail, Sajiwa, Manipur to examine the cases of detention under NSA of 23 under-trail prisoners mainly belonging to different underground organizations.

According to an official source, the recent sitting of the state NSA board chaired by the newly appointed chairman justice (retd) RK Manisana in the presence of the members of the board including sr. advocate Dr. Yamini Kanta Pukan and sr. advocate Joginder Singh had started consideration for the detention of all new 23 under trials belonging to different underground organizations.

The undertrials are identified as Naorem Ningol Miabam Ongbi Indira Devi, 35, w/o late Maibam Ratan Singh of Hiyanglam Awang Leikai, Oinam Chana Singh alias Inaocha alias Inao alias Angou, 30, s/o O Meino Sigh of Thanga Oinam Leikai, Oinam Robindro Singh alias Abung alias Roshan, 32, s/o late O Ingocha Singh of Kakwa Nameirakpam Leikai, Guruairibam Brajamani Sharma alias Inao, 33, s/o G Snanyaima Sharma of Singjmei, Thongam Leikai, Laimayum Robinchandra Sharma alias Rabichandra alias Tachou alias Tamo alias Dada Achouba alias Sharma of Singjamei Thongam Leikai, Salam Ningol Sapam Ongbi Geeta Devi alias Ebema alias Abe, 30 w/o late S Nongdamba Singh of Wabagai Lamkhai bazaar presently residing at Tera Khunou, Mayang Imphal.

The undertrials also include Maibam Chaoba Singh alias Rajen alias Ingo alias Santa alias Ibotomba, 30 s/o M Kumon Singh of Ukhongsang Maning Leikai, Maibam Manisana Singh alias Tamo, 23, s/o M Naba Singh of Ukhongsang Maning Leikai, Seleibam Ranjan Singh, 31, s/o late S Binoy Singh of New Checkon crossing, Chongtham Amrjit, 23 s/o Ch. Chandramani Singh of Kwakeithel Mayaikoibi, Okram Borjen Singh, 34 s/o O Ibochou Singh of Uyumpok Maning Leikai, Jacob Shimray alias Angoi of Kasong village of Ukhrul district, Moirangthem Chaoba Singh alias Bheigya, 55, s/o late M Kulla of Kwakeithel Laishram Leikai, Angom Tomba Singh alias Inaoton Singh alias Pamheiba alias Nongdamba, 25, s/o A Ibocha of Moirnag Khoiru Leikai. The source further identified the undertrials as Mutum Satralal Singh alias Thakur alias Deva alias Bungcha alias Suresh, 34 s/o late M Lukhoi Singh of Lamdeng Makha Leikai, Thingujam Basanta Singh alias Tomba alias Ingo, 41 s/o Th Kokil Singh of Thoubal Kiyam Mayai Leikai, Oinam Dhiren Meetei ali
as Amujao alias Ranjan alias Birjit alias Santosh, 31, s/o O Nimai of Oinam Mamang Makha Leikai, Chingsubam Ramananda Singh, alias Ibomcha alias Pari, 31, s/o late Ch Tombi Singh of Nilakuthi Awang Leikai, Urikhinbam Jotin Singh alias Tiken, 48 s/o late U Shyamkishore Singh of Chajing Karam Leikai, Wangkheimayum Kanhai Singh alias Tomba, 32 s/o W Heramot Singh of Naranseina Maning Leikai, Veiniekim Haokip alias Akim, 40, w/o Ngamkholet Haokip alias Ngamlet alias Alet of Dongsum village Senapati district, Langam Khamba Meitei alias Deva alias Sadananda alias Ibohal, 24, s/o L Achou Singh of Yairipok Ningel Mayai Leikai and Yumnam Rajen Singh alias Chandra alias Korou, 41 s/o Y Komol Singh of Lameidong Mamang Leikai.

The official source further mentioned that, the finalization of the approval of the board for the detentions of the said under trials will be made on its final sitting which is scheduled to be held on July 4 next month.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version