I-Day celebrated in state amidst UG boycott call, CM appeals for withdrawal of blockade, JSSK scheme launched


IMPHAL, Aug 16: The 65th Independence Day was celebrated in the state amidst boycott called by different underground organizations on Monday with the state level celebration held at the parade ground of 1st Battalion Manipur Rifles with Chief Minister Okram Ibobi as the chief guest.

Speaking at the celebration, Chief Minister Ibobi announced the launch of Janani Shishu Suraksha Karayakram (JSSK) scheme to be taken up under the state health department and National Rural Health Mission.

The schemes will give assistance for medical treatment to pregnant women and infants in both rural and urban areas.

He asserted that the state is inhabited by different communities and so one community should think carefully while taking up any issue that will have adverse impact on other communities. The people should have feelings for mutual help and cooperation amongst them, Ibobi enjoined.

Appealing to withdraw the economic blockade on the national highways, Chief Minister maintained that the national highways are the country’s asset and so it would be wrong to blockade the highways for making some demands. It is a disgrace for the state in front of other states, he asserted.

Ibobi stated that the people of Sadar Hills and Jiribam have been making some rightful demand for fledged districts for the last 30/40 years. However, the past governments had not granted their demands in haste. The state government needs to consider their demands seriously. All schemes and benefits have been given to the people of Sadar Hills and Jiribam by deploying necessary number of officials, he noted.

The National Highway No. 37 (formerly NH-53) will be converted into double-lane by 2013 and it will be blacktopped properly, Chief Minister stated.

Ibobi also appealed to the people to support the government in taking up various development projects in the state.

Chief Minister Okram Ibobi unfurled the tricolour National Flag at the Independence Day celebration. He inspected the march

past contingents led by parade commander Angam Kamei Romanus, Additional SP of Imphal-East.

47 police officers were awarded Police Medal for Gallantry and Police Medal while two officers were given Police Medal for Meritorious Services. Two girls were also given bravery awards at the Independence Day.

The sentence for eight convicts was also reduced by one month. The names of 21 police officers who will receive the Police Medal for Gallantry, one officer for President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Services and four officers for Police Medal for Meritorious Services were announced during the Independence Day celebration.

The 65th Independence Day was also celebrated at the district headquarters of all nine districts.

The district administration of Tamenglong celebrated the Independence Day with DC K Panmei as the chief guest. 32 contingents participated in the march past which was led by DSP Adani.

The Independence Day was celebrated at Imphal-East district headquarter with DC M Lakshmikumar as the chief guest.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here