Th Lokeshwar elected New Speaker


Governor Gurbachan Jagat addressing the first session of the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly with speaker Th Lokeshwar Singh in the chair (photo IFP).
IMPHAL March 19: Former Deputy Speaker Thokchom Lokeshwar Singh was unanimously elected as the new Speaker of the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly today morning. Lokeshwar Singh was the only candidate who filed nomination papers for the post of speaker.

After election Speaker Lokeshwar was escorted to his chair by the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh and leader of the second largest party Trinamool Congress Dr I Ibohalbi Singh.

The 44 year old holds the record for being the youngest speaker of the house, and he is the 13th Speaker. A second term MLA, Lokeshwar represents the Khundrakpam constituency in Imphal East District.

Thanking members of the assembly, Speaker Th Lokeshwar expressed gratitude to the ruling and opposition bench for unanimously electing him to the prestigious post. He promised to uphold the dignity and decorum of the House and to honour both opposition and ruling without any partiality.

“I will respect the sentiments and aspirations of all the ethnic communities while important issues of the state are being discussed in the House.”

He added, he will heed the advice of senior leaders and parliamentarians.

The Speaker was later felicitated by eight congress MLAs including the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi,K Meghachandra, Ak Mirabai Devi, Kh Ratankumar, Ng Bijoy, Abdul Nasir and T Mangibabu.

Newly elected MLAs of MSCP, K Thamarjit and P Brojen, MLA L Ibomcha of NCP and  K Shyam of Lok Jana Sakhti Party also congratulated the newly elected speaker on behalf of their respective political parties.

Th Lokeshwar is a resident of Sagolmang Mamang Leikai, Imphal East and was born on April 13,1967. He is married to Th Nivedita and has a son.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here