Home News Headlines

16 conferred State Kala Akademi

IMPHAL, August 8 (NNN): Sixteen distinguished personalities, including five women of the state were honoured with the Manipur State Kala Akademi Awards by the state Governor Gurbachan Jagat on Wednesday.

At the Akademi Awards presentation ceremony, 2010 held at JN Manipur Dance Academy Auditorium, Imphal, 16 people who have excelled in different fields of literature, fine arts, music, dance, theatre, Shumang Leela, Thang-Ta, Pena and Khongjom Parba which include in other forms of arts, and tribal culture were conferred with the coveted awards.

Akham Ongbi Lakhsmi Devi received the award in dance for her eminence in the field of Manipuri dance, Sanasam Ongbi Jasoda Devi for her excellence in the field of dance, Kshetrimayum Kriti Singh for his eminence and contribution in the field of Poong, Mairembam Memma Devi for her excellence in the field of music, Ranbir Mangang Heisnam also received the award for his contribution in the field of theatre.

Pechimayum Mani Singh was bestowed with the award for his dedication service and contribution in Shumang Leela, Chingtham Ranjeet Khuman in recognition of his realistic efforts in promoting Thang-Ta, Laishram Leibakmacha Singh for his eminence as a Pena artiste, Khumanthem Sundari Devi for her eminence in Khongjom Parba, Meiphunlung Thaimei in recognition of his contributions to the cause of tribal culture.

Poinapwi Ngounila was honoured with the award in recognition of her contribution in the filed of tribal culture, Ratan Thiyam for his luminary works of literature especially Ta Pamel Nahaksu, Sarangthem Boby Singh for his genuine aptitude and enthusiasm for fine arts and for his painting “Kundo Lenglibi,” Chittaranjan Moirangthem received the award for his realistic efforts to gain mastery in fine arts and for his sculpture “Untitled.”

Thoidingjam Tombi Singh was elected Fellow of Manipur State Kala Akademi for his eminence and in recognition of his tireless efforts for the cause of contemporary art movement and Ningombam Ibobi Singh was also elected Fellow of the Akademi.

Chief Minister O Ibobi, who attended the award distribution ceremony as president, while addressing it said, All the awardees are eminent acheivers who have taken their respective forms of arts to a new height as they truly deserve these recognitions.”

He said, these awards are not given for not only for their highest standard of excellence but also in recognition of sustained individual works of the highest professional account.”

“A healthy culture and tradition serves as a bridge between societies and communities as they bind human beings together,” the Chief Minister maintained.

All the 16 State Kala Akademi Awardees were also given cash awards and citations at the function.   



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version