NE Olympians, National Games medallists to be awarded


IMPHAL, September 13: The Department of Youth & Affairs, government of Manipur in collaboration with the Manipur Olympic Association is going to organize a felicitation programme of London Olympians of the North Eastern States and distribution of NEC Chairmen’s Sports Award for excellence on International and National Sportsmen/Sportswomen of NE Region on September 15 at the MFDC Auditorium, Palace Gate, Imphal at 4 pm.

The function will be attended by Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, Union Minister of State (i/c) DoNER/Chairman NEC, Paban Singh Ghatowar and president of Manipur Olympic Association, Bijoy Koijam as chief guest, president and guest of honour respectively.

The inauguration function of 3-Day Seminar on Development of Sports in the North Eastern States   will also be held on the said day. 

10 sports persons, who have participated at the London Olympic, from various states of north east India, will be felicitated at the function.     

MC Mary Kom, who have won bronze medal at London Olympic in Boxing will be awarded a cash prize of rupees 40 lakh. Other Olympians of the state including Laishram Devendro (boxing), Kh Kothajit (Hockey), L Bombayla (archery), Ng Sonia (weight-lifting) will be awarded a cash prize of rupees five lakh for their participation at the London Olympic 2012.  

The other players of the North East States are Jayanta Talukdar (Archery) and Shiva Thapa (boxing) from Assam,Tarundeep Rai (archery) from Sikkim, Chekrovolu Swuro (archery) from Nagaland and Somdev Kishore Devvarman (lawn tennis) from Tripura will also receive a cash prize of rupees five lakh each. 

Further, 250 sports persons of the state who have won medals at the National Games, Jharkhand, 2011 will received the NEC Chairman’s Sports Awards. Out of which, six medallists have already received their awards in the first phase.

The total number of medals bagged by these 250 players is 107 numbers of gold, silver 82 numbers of silver and 55 number of bronze with a total of 244 medals excluding the six players who have already received the awards in the first phase.

The actual budget spent for the award is 5.56 crore. As the six players have already been awarded, a total amount of 5.40 crore will be distributed as cash awards at the awards distribution function.

The medals bagged event wise are: 10 in Archery, 2 in Athletic, 4 in Boxing, 17 in Canoeing and Kayaking, 6 in Cycling, 20 in Fencing, 20 in Football, 8 in Judo, 2 in Karate-do, 6 in Rowing, 30 in Sepak takraw, 6 in Taekwondo, 6 in Triathlon, 4 in Weight-Lifting, one in Wrestling and 15 in Wushu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here