MPSC, Champion of the Kanti Hockey tournament

    IMPHAL February 4: The Manipur Police Sports Club defeated MEIRAA of Bashikhong by 5-1 goals in the final match of the 14th Dr Kanti Mukherjee Hockey Tournament 2013 organized by Hockey Manipur at Khuman Lampak Hockey stadium today.

    E-pao, a web portal also announced cash prize of Rs. 1000 along with  aT-shirt and trophy on the side lines of the final match.

    The final turned out to be an interesting match with both teams playing fast. S Tarun of MPSC scored in the 23rd minute of the play to take home the first goal scorer prize. O Bonniyan of MPSC added one goal in the 24th minute and MPSC forward P Adeva scored 3rd goal of MPSC in the 27th minute of the play while N Jenjen scored the lone goal for MEIRAA in the 28th minute.

    The MEIRAA players went all out to equalize the score line, however the MPSC team added two goals in the second half through P Adeva in the 60th minute and Th Romesh in the 65th minute of the play.

    MPSC got seven penalty corners while MEIRAA got only four penalty corners. The final match was conducted by referees S Gandhi and Ranapratap.

    The prize distribution function was attended by Md Amin Shah, Parliamentary Secretary as chief guest; P. Sunder, Pradhan as Guest of honour and Hockey Manipur President Momon as President of the function.

    The first goal scorer prize went to S Tarun of MPSC; Best goalkeeper went to L Nelson of MEIRAA; Best defender to O Gunamani of MPSC; Best midfielder to Th Romesh of MPSC, Best attacker to P Adeva of MPSC; Best player of the tournament to Th Kirankumar of MEIRAA; Best Discipline team trophy to Hockey Union with a cash award of Rs. 5,000/-, 3rd place to ARC Shillong with a cash award of Rs. 10,000/-, Runners up spot to MEIRAA along with a cash award of Rs. 20,000. Te Champions trophy along with cash amount of Rs. 40,000/- went to MPSC.



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Exit mobile version