General Election Observer dies of `cardiac arrest`


Saurath Bhauthuri IFS 1985 WB batch to take charge

IMPHAL, April 12: An IAS officer of the 1993 batch from Uttar Pradesh Chandra Bhanu who was acting as the General Election Observer of the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency died while on duty of a cardiac arrest while returning from Moreh towards Imphal around 3pm today.

He was 50.

Meanwhile, a highly placed source informed that Saurath Bhauthuri a West Bengal IFS cadre of the 1985 batch from West Bengal will replace the IAS officer as the general election observer.

According to a reliable source, the officer was in his official vehicle along with three other officials escorted by his security personnel.

The body has been deposited to Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Medical Sciences morgue for autopsy.

Officials said that his body will be flown to his native state after post mortem at 7.30am tomorrow.

According to the election official who was with the IAS officer at the time of incident, he along with Ashok Kumar Das, IAS, general observer DP Yadav and assistant observer Atul Humad were returning together from Moreh.

They had left Moreh in six vehicles including the security convoy around 2pm, he told media persons at the JNIMS.

As they were about to cross Konthonganbi area under Moreh Police station, he complained of suffocation and chest pain to those travelling with him in his vehicle, he said.

Thereafter, he was rushed to a nearby treatment unit of the Assam Rifles at Tengnoupal.

Doctors at the camp told the other to shift him to a hospital at Imphal as his condition was critical, he continued.

He was immediately evacuated for Imphal, however succumbed on the way after crossing only a few kilometres from the Tengnoupal AR post.

At the JNIMS, doctors declared him brought dead and the body was deposited to the JNIMS morgue for autopsy.

State chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, MLA N Biren, DC Imphal West, DGP, Manipur and other high ranking officers of the state visited the JNIMS morgue this evening.

Saurath Bhauthuri will take charge of Inner LS poll at Khundrakpam, Heingang, Khurai, Kshetrigao, Thongu, Keirao, Andro, Lamlai, Thangmeiband, Uripok, Sagolband, Keishamthong, Singjamei, Yaiskul, Wangkhei and Langthabal assembly constituencies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here