Three MLAs suspended from MPTC; three served show cause notices


Imphal, June 9: Three MLAs of Manipur Pradesh Trinamool Congress (MPTC) were suspended while showcause notices were served to the remaining three others on Monday.

Thangmeiband MLA Khumukcham Joykishan, Thongju MLA Th Bishwajit and Wangoi MLA O Lukhoi were suspended from MPTC as action against them for defying the instructions of All India Trinamool Congress and MPTC over the last few days.This was stated by the newly elected president of MPTC, Thounaojam Shyamkumar, a legislator from Andro assembly constituency.

Briefing the media, Shyamkumar said that he was appointed the new MPTC president by a written order from AITCC general secretary, Mukul Roy on June 2 after Kim Gangte was terminated from the post of the president. According to him, he was informed of his appointment as the new president by MP Derek O’ Brien.

“During the recent 16th LS polls, six MLAs of MPTC worked against the party by supporting candidates of other political parties. They didn’t work for the party’s success but for other parties breaking the rules and regulations of the party. They violated form A and B which they signed while enrolling to the Trinamool Congress,” Syamkumar said, adding that the suspended MLAs often used unconstitutional languages such as ‘MPTC has no relationship with AITC’ and defied the official directive of Derek O’ Brien.

Three MLAs including self-styled MPTC president Khumukcham Joykishan of Thangmeiband A/C, Thongju MLA Th Bishwajit, Wangai MLA O Lukhoi were suspended from primary membership of the party for anti- party activities with effect from Monday under rule nos. 6 (A) I, II, V of the party’s constitution, he said. The remaining three Trinamool Congress MLAs were also served show cause notices. The suspension order will also be sent to the Assembly Speaker, he added.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here