Hemochandra elected new MOA president


IMPHAL, 14 July 2014: PHED & Labour minister I Hemochandra Singh was elected president of the Manipur Olympic Association today. Members of the executive council Manipur Olympic Association today made the announcement at the Olympc Bhavan, Khuman Lampak Sports Complex. The election was held on April 4. Explaining the belated announcement of the result, returning officer, Radhakumar Singh said the result was kept withheld following an order from the Supreme Court and the ballot boxes were kept in the treasury office till today. The Supreme Court had on July 4 ordered declaration of the result by July 15, he said. Other elected members of the executive council are Sunil Elangbam as secretary, M Prithiviraj Singh as treasurer), Dr GA Ibopishak Sharma, A Baruni Singh, M Chourjit Singh, Jotin Waikhom, Th Joykumar Singh, Dr Kh Loken Singh as vice presidents, GA Sanatomba Sharma, Dr S Shantikumar Singh, T Dushanta Singh, K Achoubi singh as joint secretaries, M Biramani Singh, Y Bony Singh, L Shantakeshor Singh, Y Ibotombi Singh, Ng Inaocha Singh, A Johnson, Prof Joykumar Leishemba, L Phunil Singh, Ng Thoiba Singh, G Tombi Sharma as executive Mmembers. Hemochandra congratulated the newly elected executive members. He also said that the delay in the announcement of the election results had created much inconvenience in the sports institution of the State. He further expressed that the MOA will extend its duty with full integrity and added that a Sports University is in the pipeline. Hemochandra further said that it is time to gear up for the upcoming National Games at Kerala.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here