Polling personnel dispatched for Hiyanglam bye-poll


Imphal, October 16: Polling personnel of the 38-Hiyanglam bye-election has left the Thoubal district head quarter this morning for their respective polling stations along with 340 security personnel.

The total number of polling stations in the Hiyanglam assembly constituency is 34 which are going to be manned by 170 polling personnel during the election. A section of ten security personnel are being deployed in every polling station. The total numbers of voters in the Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency was confirmed to be 24492 on the day of nomination for the poll of which 11953 were male voters and 12539 were female voters.

Meanwhile, the returning officer of the bye-poll has declared every polling station in the assembly constituency as sensitive. Polling station number 38/13 at Lamjao Girls LP School is considered to be the biggest whereas polling station number 38/34 at Thounaojam Primary School, South wing is considered the smallest.

The nearest polling station from the Thoubal district head quarter is polling station number 38/11 at Hiyanglam Junior High School located only about 30 Kms away and the farthest is 38/30 at Arong Khunou Heibong Keidongbi LP School which is about 50 Km away from the district head quarter.

It may be recalled that five candidates are in the fray for the Hiyanglam bye-poll. After the demise of Maibam Kunjo of the Trinamool Congress, the seat was lying vacant and the ECI recommended a bye-election in the Assembly constituency.

In the bye-election, the BJP, Congress, Trinamool Congress, Manipur Peoples`™ Party and MSCP are contesting for the lone seat. The BJP Manipur Pradesh is represented by Maibam Dhanbir, son of late Maibam Kunjo whereas former legislator Elangbam Dwijamani is being fielded by the Congress. Dr Yumnam Radheshyam is contesting the bye-pool in a Trinamool Congress ticket while Mayengbam Amutombi and Thockchom Laiba are being fielded by the MPP and MSCP respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here