BJP elated as ADC leaders join party ahead of June 1 polls


IMPHAL, April 28: Several Autonomous District Council members of the Congress have joined the BJP which is a clear sign of the party`™s gaining strength in the State, said BJP Manipur Pradesh president Th Chaoba today.

The leaders of the hill districts seem to have chosen their party affiliation well, he said.

He was speaking at the party`™s Nityaipat Chuthek office welcoming 18 leaders from different political parties including Congress and MPP.

With the joining of the ADC members, the likelihood of BJP winning maximum numbers of seat in the June 1 ADC election has also increased, Chaoba observed.

The BJP, he said will contest all 144 seats of the ADC.

Chaoba said the party needs support from the public to implement developmental works in the State.

During the past 13 years of Congress rule in the State, development has never reached the hill districts, he said taking a jibe at the Ibobi led Congress government.

Instead, the Congress government has only been interested in contract works and its MLAs and ministers have been only fighting for contract works, he continued.

Such malpractices cannot ensure success for long, he added.

It is the right time for the State to totally abolish the Congress government starting from the ADC election, Chaoba stated.

BJP national executive member Tapir Gao who had launched the party`™s website www.manip earlier today said the joining of the politicians has strengthened the party.

Our country is in a transitional phase under Prime Minister Narendra Modi after 10 years of Congress rule in the Centre, he said.

Modi is not only a leader of the country, but he is also becoming a world leader, he said.

The politicians who joined the party today are identified as Khangthuanang Panmei ex-MLA ex-PCC members of Tamenglong constituency; Sworth Vashum retd IAS of Assam; Pouhotlung, a Congress ADC member of Tharon Tamenglong; Dimthouri a Congress ADC member of Cheangdai Tamenglong; TP Tabui Congress ADC member of Awangkhul Tamenglong; Makiureiyang Gonmei Congress ADC member of Chiuluan Tamenglong, Digao Pamei Congress ADC member of Dailong Tamenglong, Md Nasiruddin Khan and Dr Y Antas Khan both sons of late Ex-minister of Congress Md Allaudin Khan Keirao; Athiko Kes ADC member Pundunamei Senapati, LK Kasaso ADC member of Laii Senapati, RP Danii ADC member of Saranamei Mao; P Kaisii Congress ADC member of Tadubi; Vihrii Ng Pao Congress ADC member of Tunggam Khullen; AL John Congress ADC member of Punanamei and Binod former youth president MPP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here