Adequate security deployment, emergency services for ADC election sought


IMPHAL May 11: `The State Election Commission has requested for deploying required adequate security and also to arrange all necessary emergency services in view of the ensuing ADC election to be held on June 1` said Th Chitra, Secretary of State Election Commission during a press conference at its office at DC Complex, Lamphelpat in Imphal West today.

51 Autonomous District Council Candidates have withdrawn their candidatures from the ensuing election. Out of them, 48 were from Independent parties, two from Janata Dal United (JDU) and one from Indian National Congress (INC).

Interestingly, there was not a single withdrawal from the Naga Peoples Front (NPF) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

There are 11 Autonomous District Council candidates from different constituencies who could win the election uncontested. Amongst them, it included six from INC, four from NPF and one from BJP. Amongst the INC candidates, four are from Moreh and another from Kangpokpi. The four NPF candidates are from Paomata, Purul, and Pudunamei.

After the election scrutiny, 558 candidates from 144 constituencies were approved. However, due to the withdrawal of 51 candidates and 11 uncontested winners, a total of 496 candidates will contest the election. NPF party has fielded 86 candidates who will be contesting from different constituencies.

On June 1, 709283 voters comprising of 360363 females and 348920 males will elect the new Autonomous District Councillors for a term of five years. Voting will be done through ballot boxes in 1163 polling stations in the six autonomous districts namely 206 in Ukhrul, 144 in Chandel, 165 in Tamenlong, 290 in Churachanpur, 186 in Senapati and 172 in Sardar Hills.

Five Civil Polling Personnel each will be engaged for all the 1163 polling stations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here