MPP president charged of dissolving district committees


IMPHAL, May 30: Although there is an ongoing court case regarding the alleged suspension of three Manipur People`™s Party`™s central committee members by the party president N Sovakiran, the president has dissolved 10 Kendra committees and three district committees of the party.

According to a central committee member of the party S Dilip Singh, an order had come out on May 25 stating that the dissolution of the district and kendra committees was the resolution no 3 of a working committee meeting convened on May 23 at the president`™s office.

The dissolved Kendra committee`™s are Wangkhem Kendra Committee, Moirang Kendra Committee, Sugnu Kendra Committee, Thanga Kendra Committee, Lamlai Kendra Committee, Yaiskul Kendra Committee, Thongju Kendra Committee, Sagolband Kendra Committee, Kumbi Kendra Committee and SIngjamei Kendra Committee.

The dissolved district committees are Thoubal District-I, Thoubal District-II and Bishnupur District.

He said the step taken up by the party president is despite a case pending against the president before the Civil Judge, Senior Division no 1.

He further said that the dissolution of the district and kendra committees and suspension of the three central committee members are against paragraph 2 of Article No 8 (2) of the party`™s constitution and the rights of the members provided under Article 29.

Such actions are that of a dictator, he continued.

All these are acts to bring an end to the only regional political party in the State he said adding that the president is acting in an anti-party manner.

Sovakiran should step down from being the party president on moral grounds, Dilip demanded.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here