AMUCO marks mass protest against signing of Bangkok Declaration


IMPHAL, June 14: The All Manipur United Clubs`™ Organisation today observed the 14th Protest Day marking the people`™s protest against the signing of the Bangkok Declaration with the words `without territorial limits`™ between the Government of India and the NSCN (IM) on June 14, 2001.

The observation was held jointly with several other organisations of the State at the Kwakeithel Akham Leikai Community Hall near the AMUCO office.

Separatist feelings will not bring any peaceful solution in the State, AMUCO advisor KT Rahman said during the observation.

Recounting a brief history, he said the NSCN (IM) and the Government of India had signed a ceasefire agreement on August 1, 1997.

On June 14, 2001 the Bangkok Declaration which extended the ceasefire to without territorial limits was signed between the two sides, he said.

Following the extension of the ceasefire, AMUCO conducted public meetings on June 14 and 15, 2001 and resolved to impose a 66-hour State-wide bandh, he continued.

The agitation spread and on June 18, 2001, the public unable to remain calm came out in full force and demonstrated against the extension of the ceasefire, he said and added that 18 civilians lost their lives to the bullets of the security forces.

However, the mass public agitation shook the government which had to revoke the extension of the ceasefire without territorial limits, he continued.

He said it was the collective effort of all sections of the society that made the Government of India revoked its earlier declaration.

Now-a-days the idea of separatism seems to have caught on in the State, he said.

Separatist ideologies will not bring any good to the State, he said adding that it is for every individual to safeguard the territorial integrity of the State.

Manipur is for the Manipuris, he said.

The observation was also attended by AMUCO president Dr Y Mani Khuman, president Irobot Foundation Manipur Th Iboyaima, president Poirei Leimarol Meira Paibi Apuba Manipur L Memchoubi, president AMAWOVA and other leaders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here