Not Congress members, says MPCC vice president


IMPHAL, June 11: The All Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC), vice president S Achouba has clarified that the three Wangoi councilors who had joined the BJP were not Congress members.

Speaking to the media persons at the Congress Bhawan, MPCC Achouba said the three Councilors Khaidem Bala (chairperson), Wangjam Shamu (vice chairperson) and Taher Ali (councilor) who joined the BJP are not Congress members.

He alleged that INC had expelled the said three councilors from their membership since June 2014 for misuse of funds, non-transparency of their policy, schemes and non conduct of Government work programmes and their cases were thoroughly investigated by the vigilance, he added.

He told the media persons that S Gojendro Singh, executive officer, Wangoi Municipal Council was forced to issue Utilisation Certificate (UC) and the copies of the confidential letters of the office.

As S Gojendro have refused to issue the same as the UC demanded by them is to be issued after proper verification and the official letter demanded by them are confidential ones.

At that point of time, the said three councilors threaten to kill S Gojendro if he fails to issue their demands he alleged.

So, S Gojendro after the threat from the three councilors wrote a letter to the Superitendent of Police, Imphal to take up necessary legal action for illegal activities meted out by the chairpersons, vice- chairperson and the councilor.

He also said that H Balkrishna Singh, under secretary (MAHUD), GOM also wrote a letter to the Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West, Manipur on September 20, 2014 requesting to list out the councilors of Wangoi Municipal who were responsible for not executing the works as per enquiry report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here