Adequate power supply, potable water for hills are govt’s top agendas: CM


IMPHAL, December 29: Asserting that the government is putting efforts to develop both the hills and valley at an equal pace, Chief Minister O Ibobi assured that emphasis is being given to ensure adequate supply of potable water, power and health facilities in the hills.

The CM was speaking at inauguration of two 33/11 KV power sub-stations in Churachandpur district today.

Ibobi while inaugurating the first power sub-station set up at Sivapurikhal at Ngangai Range said that earnest efforts are on to complete the construction of SDO/BDO Office at Sivapurikhal within the current financial year to ease administration work in the area.

Besides this, the government is also working to upgrade the Primary Health Sub-Centres in the area to Primary Health Centres by recruiting required staffs after holding special DPC and avail adequate health facilities to its people, he said.

The CM who reached the district in a helicopter for the inauguration declared that preference will be given to qualified local people for the staff recruitment.

He envisaged that there will be 24-hour power supply in Tipaimukh if the proposed setting up of 132 KV Sub-Station in the area is materialised.

While inaugurating the second power sub-station at Sinzawl under Thanlon Sub-Division, Ibobi said that electric light in every household in the hills will be a reality in due course of time.

He further said that hectic preparation is on to inaugurate the 132/33 KV Power Sub-Station at Thanlon within the current financial year as well.

Ibobi went on to say that works on improvement of Primary Health Centres in Sinzawl and expansion of playground in the area will also be taken up by the government with utmost importance.

Today’s inauguration of the two power sub-stations was also attended by Health Minister Phungzathang Tonsing; IFCD Minister Ngamthang Haokipl; Chairman of Hill Areas Committee Dr Chaltonlien Amo; Parliamentary Secretary (Horticulture & Soil Conservation) Vungzagin Valte and MLA Ginsuanhao.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here