State joins nation in celebrating R-Day


IMPHAL, January 27: Manipur celebrated the 67th Republic Day of India on January 26 with Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh unfurling the National Flag at the historic place of Kangla.

Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh giving the vote of thanks at a ceremony held after the parade at 1st Bn Manipur Rifles parade ground wished the people of the State on the occasion.

“I wish the people of Manipur on the joyous occasion of 67th Republic Day of India.”

He further said that India has made much progress since gaining independence.

He said although the progress in other developed countries is slowing down globally, India is rapid progress.

India has been able to lead the world in the field of Information Technology and by enhancing productivity it has made much progress in the business sector also and has become one of the economic powers of the world, he maintained.

The Chief Minister said that Manipur also has made much progress in the fields of arts and culture, games & sports, education, health, road and transport, agriculture, science and technology etc.

“Due to the people’s support the State has been able to have a stable government making developmental works to progress effectively,” he said.

“I think it wouldn’t be wrong to say that in a short period of time this present government has been able to bring some changes effectively,” he said.

He mentioned the handing over of the secret Kangla to the people, establishment of JNIMS and NIT, upgradation of Manipur University to a central university, establishment of Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, work progress of Jiribam-Tupul Railway line, capitol complex and High Court buildings, the City Convention Centre, information technology and its related infrastructures etc as the changes brought by his government.

Lastly he appealed to the people of the State to extend their co-operation in the developmental works taken up by the State government to bring peace and prosperity in the State.

Chief secretary O Nabakishore speaking to media persons on the sideline of the Vote of Thanks Ceremony at 1st Bn MR Parade Ground said that this time the celebration was more fulfilling compared to earlier times as there were many participants like never before.

He added that Manipur police department has done a tremendous job by preventing occurrence of any untoward incidents during the celebration.

Altogether 120 parade contingents took part in the march past competition including 13 contingents of uniform personnel, 11 band parties contingents, six contingents from NCC, two contingents of scouts and guides, 12 cultural troupes, 15 tableaus and 61 contingents from schools and colleges.

For the first time, a parade contingent from the neighbouring State Nagaland also participated in the Republic Day parade here.

The Nagaland parade contingent was an all-female contingent consisting of 37 personnel from the 15th NAP (IR) Mahila Battalion and was commanded by 2009 batch Armed Branch Sub-Inspector Sedevinuo.

It may also be mentioned here that the Manipur State Police had also sent a parade contingent comprising of 46 personnel led by an Assistant Commandant from the 6th MR, Ukhrul to participate in the Republic Day parade 2016 in Kohima, Nagaland.

The decision to exchange parade contingents between the neighbouring States on Republic Day/Independence Day was taken in the DG/IG conference, 2015.

The day was also celebrated in all districts and sub-divisions of the State.

Meanwhile, the results of the march past competitions of various categories of the Republic Day parade was announced today during the beating or retreat programme held at the 1st MR Parade ground. The Chief Minister distributed the prizes.

In the march past Category: 2nd IRB (Guard of Honour) bagged the 1st position, BSF bagged the 2nd position, and CRPF and Nagaland Women Police bagged the 3rd position in the Uniform Contingent category.

In the NCC groups category of march-past: Sainik School-A bagged the 1st position, NCC Sr Air Wing and Sainik School-B bagged the 2nd position, and 14th Bn Jr NCC bagged the 3rd position.

In the school contingents category: Ibotonsana Girls’ Hr Sec School bagged the 1st position, Andro Jr High School and National Sports Academy Girls bagged the 2nd position, and National Sports Academy Boys bagged the 3rd position.

In the College Contingents category: Manipur College bagged the 1st position, GP Women’s College and MB College bagged the 2nd position, and DM College of Arts Girls bagged the 3rd position.

In the band parties categories: Assam Rifles Band bagged the 1st position, Territorial Army Band bagged the 2nd position, and MPTC & 2nd IRB Combined bagged the 3rd position.

In the tableau display competition: Relief & Disaster Management bagged the 1st position, Loktak Development Authority bagged the 2nd position, and SSA bagged the 3rd position.

In the gate construction category: Rural Development and Panchayati Raj bagged the 1st position, Forest Department bagged the 2nd position, and Commerce & Industries department and MACS bagged the 3rd position.

In the cultural troupes category: Moirang Artiest Association bagged the 1st position, Sangeet Kala Imphal East bagged the 2nd position, and ICC Upliftment Imphal West bagged the 3rd position.

The Chief Engineer (PWD), Manipur; the Chief Engineer (PHED), Manipur; the Chief Engineer (IFCD), Manipur; the Managing Director (MSPDCL), Manipur; Commandant of 1st Bn Manipur Rifles Th Radheshyam Singh; The Secretary, All Manipur Band Parties Association; the 9th IRB, (Mahila) Band; Wheel Chair Platoon (differently able person); Ex-Servicemen Contingent; President, All Manipur Women & Girls & State Committee; T Phulen Meitei, Sub-Registrar, (HQ), Imphal West; W Itocha Singh, Sub-Deputy Collector, Sekmai, Imphal West; Keisham Raghumani Singh, Zilladar, SDC, Sekmai; and Th Sarat Sharma, Manager of Publication, DIPR were given special prizes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here