Home News Headlines

Committee formed to oversee installation schedule of Rani Gaidinliu statue in Imphal

IMPHAL, February 4: Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has announced that the State government will soon identify a suitable site in Imphal to install a statue of Rani Gaidinliu, in honour of the late freedom fighter.

The Chief Minister was speaking at the inaugural function of the All India Womens’ Invitation Football 2016, today at the Khuman Lampak Main Stadium, Imphal.

The invitational tourney is being organised by the Zeliangrong Sporting Union (ZSU) in commemoration of the 100th birth anniversary of the freedom fighter.

A committee, comprising of a former IMC chairman and members of the Kabui Mothers’ Association (KMA) was also formed today to check the scheduled date of the installation of the statue.

The Chief Minister continued that the people of Manipur should be proud on being citizens of the State where a selfless and patriotic figure like Rani Gaidinliu was born.

Wishing the organising committee his best and the event all success in the coming years, the Chief Minister assured all possible help after proper consultation with the concerned department in terms of financial or moral support.

Ibobi observed that the statue once erected will help highlight the leader in a more vibrant manner not only in the country but globally.

Deputy Chief Minister, Gaikhangam, underscoring the valiant feature of Rani Gaidinliu, urged today’s generation to follow in the footsteps of the freedom fighter.

The Womens’ football tournament will further help resonate Rani Gaidinliu and her struggle before the entire nation, he said.

Works minister, Dr Kh Ratankumar, Tamenglong MLA, Janghemlung Pamei also attended the inaugural function.

The tournament is participated by teams of eight States including Manipur, Sikkim, Bihar, Orissa, Railways, Haryana, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

The teams will be divided into two groups viz Group 1 including Manipur, Sikkim, Bihar, Orissa and group 2 including Railways, Haryana, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

The opening match was played between Manipur and Sikkim, with the Home team winning by 2-0.

The first half of the match ended rather tamely with both sides failing to convert any chaces.

The second half witnessed the Manipur eves dominating with N Ratanbala scoring the first goal of the tournament in the 50th minute. Three minutes later, E Bindyarani scored the second goal.

The tournament will conclude on February 16.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version