Meritorious students feted


IMPHAL, June 10: The Distribution of 13th Thokchom Navakumar Singh Memorial Meritorious Award-2012 was held today at Pukhao Laipham LP School Ground, Puphao Laipham.

Rank holders and 1st divisioners of Khundrakpam constituencies in the last HSLC and HSE were felicitated and awarded during the function.

The function also accorded a warm felicitation to National Film Awardee Tonthoinganbi and International Fine Art Awardee K Maikel Meitei. Both were presented with mementos during the function.

Speaking as the chief guest of the function, state Education Minister M Okendro said, the government is trying to bring up the government schools on par with the private schools.

The minister while lamenting that the state is losing valuable resources as students are flocking outside the state in search of good educational institutions, said, the state is trying to promote education in the state by bringing in the facilities found outside the state.

The government will also promote educational tourism in the state.

He assured better facilities in the government schools.

The Minister also said he has instructed the school principals of TG Higher Secondary, CC Higher Secondary and Johnstone Higher Secondary to admit all students seeking admission in their respective schools.

Meanwhile, Social Welfare & Co-operation Minister AK Mirabai who attended the function as guest of honour lauded the meritorious students and said they should work hard to achieve their goals in life.

Regarding old age pension, she said the Manipur Old Age Pension Scheme has been increased from Rs 100 to Rs 200, while the Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme has been increased to Rs 400 from Rs 200.

The function was organized by the Village Development & Sporting Club, Pukhao Laipha and Pourabi Rising Star Club, Pourabi under the sponsorship of Thokchom Navakumar Singh Memorial Trust.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here