Eastern India weight lifting championship to begin from 2nd Nov


IMPHAL, October 31: The Manipur Weight Lifting Association under the aegis of Weight Lifting Federation of India will be organizing the 76th men’s and 20th women’s eastern India weight lifting championship during November 2 to 4 at SAG hall, Khuman Lampak Sports Complex.

This was said by the chairman of the organizing committee, Dr Kh Ratankumar at a press meet at Hotel Imphal today.

He further said that officials and players numbering around 150 from host state Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura, Bengal and Bihar will participate in the championship.

Manipur has been able to produce more than 40 international weight lifter medallists so far. They include Olympians Kunjarani, Sanamacha Chanu and Ng Sonia Chanu. And in India, Manipur dominates in this particular discipline, he added.

Manipur Weight Lifting Association Secretary, Sunil Elangbam informed there will be eight categories in men’s competition, 56 kg, 62 kg, 69 kg, 77 kg, 85 kg, 94 kg, 105 kg and 105 plus kg and for women’s it is divided into seven categories, 48 kg, 53 kg, 58 kg, 63 kg, 69 kg, 75 kg and 75 plus kg.

He further continued that Manipur men lifters will not participate in 105 kg and 105 plus kg events. Players and officials of Manipur numbering around 15 will participate in the championship.

He said that he is firmly confident that Manipur will be the team champion this time.

There is also provision for holding Senior National Championship in Manipur in 2014. After the sub-junior and junior national championship held in the year 2007, Manipur has not been able to host any other championship, he said.

He appealed to all the people in the state for support in hosting the championship.

Vice-chairman of the organising committee, Parliamentary Secretary, YAS, M Prithiviraj also informed that the government is planning on buying some modern equipment for some sports which Manipur is good at, at the soonest.   

The press meet was also attended by working chairman M Lokendro and other association’s members.          


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here