ILPS drafting panel to submit memo today


IMPHAL, May 15: In the wake of the series of agitations launched by Joint Committee on Inner Line Permit System (JCILPS) in pursuit of its demand for conversion of the three bills passed in the State Assembly to safeguard the indigenous people into acts, the Drafting Committee constituted by All Political Party Committee on ILPS will be seeking approval of Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh of its memorandum.

According to reports culled by this daily, the Drafting Committee is all set to submit the memorandum to the CM tomorrow. If any need for changes in the memorandum arises, it will be done tomorrow itself.

Representatives of All Political Party Committee will be submitting the memorandum to the President of the country, Prime Minister and concerned Union Ministers in Delhi.

The reports said preparation of final list of the representatives who will be heading for the national capital to submit the memorandum has been completed.

Timing for departure will be fixed after meeting the CM tomorrow.

Mention may be made that the Drafting Committee was formed during a meeting held on May 9. Members of the committee include President of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) TN Haokip, Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam, secretary of CPI Manipur State Council Dr M Nara, O Joy of BJP, Ksh Shanta of CPM and NCPM MLA L Ibomcha.

The first meeting of the meeting was convened on May 11.

Meanwhile, continuing its agitation in demand of conversion of the three bills into act to monitor the rampant influx of outsiders in the State, JCILPS staged protest demonstrations along Moirangkhom-Lilong stretch in National Highway 2 today.

Women folks staged sit-in-protests by blocking half-way along the highway. Later, the protestors formed human chains during which they shouted slogans, “ Convert the three bills passed in the Assembly into act”, “Outsiders should not be allowed to cast vote and contest in elections” etc in support of the demand.

Locals residing along Singjamei-Lilong road also joined in the protest demonstrations.

It may be mentioned that the three bills was unanimously passed during a Special Session of Manipur Legislative Assembly on August 31, 2015 after much public furore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here