NISA beat ESU, SSU win against MPSC in MSL matches


IMPHAL, Aug 26: Defending champion NISA overcame stiff challenge from ESU in their second match of the Manipur State League, 2010 played today at Mapal Kangjeibung.

In defence of the MSL title, NISA players were in tempo and created several chances to score against rival ESU, whose players too were fit enough to pose threat.

However, in the 42nd minute, ESU’s Basantakumar scored a own goal while trying to clear a ball which sail into their own net. With this score NISA lead the half time with 1-0 score.

Later in the second half, NISA player continue to pose threat to ESU goalmouth as a result of which W Jimmy headed second goal for the Thangmeiband side through a fine cross from I Ibotombi in the 64th minute.

Relentless efforts of the ESU player to reduced the goal margin yeild result in the 90+ minute when N Bobocha scored one goal and ended up the match 2-1 in favour of the reigning MSL champion.

In another match played at the same venue, SSU defeated MPSC, 3-1 thereby earning a full point.

First half of the match saw players of both SSU and MPSC hunger for goals. S Santa of SSU rightly put in first goal of the match as his spot kick in the 3rd minute found the net. M Bijen scored another goal for SSU in the 20th minute to go ahead with 2-0.

However, MPSC player fought back and earned a penalty in the 31st minute which was converted by Shanta to reduce the goal margin 2-1.

In the second half, Y Inao sealed the victory for SSU as he scored third goal for the team to lead the match 3-1 and eventually went on to win match with same scoreline.

During the match referee Rabi booked four yellow cards, three to MPSC players and one to SSU. Nilakumar, Ksh Kanta and Santa were players booked for MPSC while S Shanta was player booked for SSU.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here