Home News Headlines

UPA’s Cabinet reshuffle

NEW DELHI, Jul 12: With Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s much-anticipated Cabinet reshuffle, the verdict is finally out on who will make it to the Cabinet rank and who failed to make the cut. There are not many surprises as the top 4 posts remain unchanged with only cosmetic changes implemented in the Cabinet.
The revamped Cabinet looks so:
The following Ministers have seen a change in portfolio –
– Science and Technology and Earth Sciences – Vilasrao Deshmukh
– Corporate Affairs – M Veerappa Moily
– Commerce and Industry; and additional charge of Textiles – Anand Sharma
– Parliamentary Affairs and additional charge of Water Resources – Pawan Kumar Bansal
– Law and Justice and additional charge of Minority Affairs – Salman Khursheed
Ministers of State :
Home Affairs – Jitendra Singh
Health and Family Welfare – Sudip Bandopadhyaya
Agriculture and Food Processing Industries – Charan Das Mahant
Communications and Information Technology – Milind Deora
Parliamentary Affairs – Rajiv Shukla
Ministers of State (independent charge) :
Environment and Forests – Jayanthi Natarajan
Drinking Water and Sanitation – Gurudas Kamat
Statistics and Programme Implementation and Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers – Srikant Jena
Development of North Eastern Region – Paban Singh Ghatowar
New entrants elevated to Cabinet rank :
Rural Development – Jairam Ramesh
Railways – Dinesh Trivedi
Steel – Beni Prasad Verma
Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj – V Kishore Chandra Deo
MoS that saw a change in portfolio-
Shipping – Mukul Roy
External Affairs and Human Resource Development – E Ahamed
Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; and Prime Minister’s Office – V Narayanasamy
Agriculture and Food Processing Industries; and Parliamentary Affairs – Harish Rawat
Planning; Science and Technology and Earth Sciences – Ashwani Kumar
With the shifts and revamped look of the new UPA Cabinet, there have been quite a few upsets as well when the Prime Minister forwarded the resignation letters of the following Ministers in the Union Council of Ministers. He has recommended that the letters be accepted.
Dayanidhi Maran
Murli Deora
B.K. Handique
M.S. Gill
Kanti Lal Bhuria
Sai Prathap
Arun S. Yadav



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version