International committee on Puya Meithaba formed


IMPHAL, Dec 8: An International committee on Puya Meithaba, namely Puya Meithaba Ningshing Thousil Lup has been formed today with former minister RV Minthing as the chairman.

Namoijam Tomba, Chana Lukhoi, Salam Chingtam, Thokchom Wangamba, Ngasekpam Yumjao, Wangkhem Saratchandra, Sanabam Khamba, Hamom Promud and Anwari Nurjahan are the chief convenors of this committee.

Speaking to mediapersons today at Manipur Press Club, chief convenor N Tomba stated that the 283rd Puya Meithaba will be observed on January 16, 2012. The observation will commence from January 2.

There will be various events ahead of Puya Meithaba observation. All Manipur Recognized Private Schools’ Welfare Association in association with ICOP will observe black day in various schools of the state from January 2 to 7, he stated.

Painting competition, discussion, drama etc. will be organized as a part of the observation, the chief convenor noted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here