Naga party wins four seats


IMPHAL, Mar 6: Contrary to the hype built up by the party and the flak drawn by its `Naga integration` slogan, the Naga People`s Front (NPF) could only win in four constituencies in Naga dominated 12 assembly constituencies it contested in the 10th Manipur legislative assembly.

The NPF in spite of its tall claim to win at least in eight seats, managed to secured only in four of them.

Dr Alexander Pao of the NPF won from Karong assembly constituency in Senapati district by defeating sitting MLA  D.D Thaisii of the Congress. Dikho of the NPF defeated his nearest rival from the Congress P.T Arhai in Mao constituency, also in Senapati district.

In the whole Ukhrul district, the NPF could win only in one seat. Samuel Risom of the NPF opened the account for the party from Ukhrul district headquarters.

In Chandel district, ST Nunghlung brought laurel for the Naga party from the district headquarters.

Manipur unit president of the NPF G Gaingam lost to Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) Gaikhangam in Nungba constituency of Tamenglong district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here