Home News Headlines

Okram Joy leaves MPP, raises speculation of joining Congress

IMPHAL, February 23: In a stunning development that could be a major set-back for the Manipur People’s Party (MPP), senior MPP politician Okram Joy Singh, has formally submitted his resignation from the primary membership of the party today.

Meanwhile, rumours are doing the rounds that the senior politician will probably join the Congress.

Speaking to IFP, O Joy, informed that he took the decision to leave MPP after carefully assessing the prevailing political scenario of India and state. “Throughout my long journey as a politician my political ideology is based on Manipuri Nationalism and regionalism and to keep alive and boost these ideas a larger platform is needed,” divulged O Joy.

When further asked whether MPP has lost the Manipuri Nationalism and regionalism, he declined to comment and said that will be made public soon enough.  

In response to a query on the prevailing rumour of him joining the congress, the senior politician said that irrespective of ruling or opposition he will join a party which has ideology of Manipuri Nationalism and regionalism. However, the decision will be taken only after consulting with his supporters, workers and sympathisers etc.

Justifying his action of taking the back seat  for the past several years, O Joy claimed it was only a temporary retirement to try his hands on other things like writing books. During the  period, O Joy has published a book and is publishing another one.

MPP president Sovakiran, when contacted over the phone to comment on O Joy’s  resignation confessed that he had no idea with the office closed on account of being a Sunday.

However, he asserted that once an individual submits his or her resignation the party cannot go against his will.  

Surprised over the development, Sovakiran revealed that MPP never have thought that a great leader like O Joy will leave the party.

Meanwhile, another two members also submitted their resignation including O Joy’s son, O Debendra Singh (former general secretary) and Sagolsem Ronal Meitei, president Youth Front MPP. O Joy was first elected to  the second Assembly Election 1974 on a MPP ticket and was the PWD, Agriculture and Revenue  minister under the RK Dorendra Singh  led government.

He has been elected six times on an MPP ticket and held key posts  as Minister of the Manipur Government besides taking an active role as the opposition.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version