Vigilance commission report tabled


Five police Sub-Inspectors removed for forgery

IMPHAL, February 26: Altogether nine cases recommended by the state vigilance commission were disposed off after penalising the accused involved, while five other are under investigation, Home Minister, Gaikhangam informed the House while tabling the annual report of 2013 of the commission on the third day of the ongoing seventh session of the 10th Assembly.

Elaborating on the cases, the Home minister asserted that a total of 15 cases were registered with the commission.

Having conducted a thorough investigation in nine cases the commission submitted its report recommending panelising the accused in seven cases for major penalty and in two others for minor penalty.

However, five cases are still under investigation, added Gaikhangam.

Amongst the total seven cases recommended included removal of 5 Sub-Inspectors (SI) from their services for using fake sports certificates during the time of recruitment.

The SIs have been identified as Chanuleima Pangeijam, Th Rosie Devi, Aruna Laishram, N Memtu Devi and Regina Begum.

As per the report tabled today, showed that the five female SIs was appointed as meritorious sportspersons along with other 67 candidates (notification No E/31/17 (W-SI/AS10/2008-PHQ) dated 30-1-2010 issued by the DGP, Manipur).

The report mentioned that the sports certificates in respect of Chanuleima Pangeijam and N Memtu Devi are found to be not recognised by the sporting authorities whereas the certificate of the remaining three SIs were found to be forged. Subsequent upon the findings, the commission submitted its recommendation to the principal secretary (Home) on June 28, 2014 to take necessary steps for removal of the SIs.

In another case, the commission recommended for recovery of a sum of Rs 26,04,133 under the Manipur Public Servants’ Personal Liability Act, 2006 from 12 officers of the Agriculture Department including its retired director, L Palendro Singh.

The officers were found involved in awarding sanction orders by splitting up the fund under plan, encashment of bills, passing the bills in violation of the finance departments’ ban order on encashment of bills.

Other officers involved in the case includes O Ibomcha Singh, rice breeder, Wangbal department of Agriculture; P Angouba Singh, DAO Thoubal and DDO Kharungpat; N Binabon Singh, DAO Bishnupur, S Nabakumar Singh, former DAO, Tamenglong (retired); Luis Ngasainao, DAO Ukhrul; Y Ishwarchandra Singh, Treasury officer; Y Rajen Singh, SDO Thoubal former TO Thoubal; l Ibomcha Singh, STO KCG (retired); TK Simte, SDO Tamenglong former TO Tamenglong; K Ngazaklei, finance officer, ADC Ukhrul former TO Ukhrul and AS Wontimla, ATO Ukhrul.  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here