Disqualification of five MLAs demanded


IMPHAL, March 28: The Manipur State Congress Party has initiated steps against the five MLAs of the party who have joined the Congress party, said MSCP vice president Adim Panmei.

Addressing media persons at a press conference today at the Manipur Press Club, he said the five Janghemlung Panmei (Tamenglong), Karam Amarjit (Keirao), Nemcha Kipgen

(Kangpokpi), RK Imo (Sagolband) and Paonam Brojen (Wangjing Tentha) were elected with MSCP tickets during the last state Assembly election.

He said the party has apprised the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly to disqualify the five from being members of the Assembly under paragraph 2(1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

Coming back to the present issue of election, he said the five`s exit will not affect the party much.

The party has as such decided to support the Naga Peoples` Front in the upcoming election, he continued.

The president, vice-president, general secretary, secretary and member of the central executive committee will remain intact and there is no question of the MSCP merging to the INC at any cost, he asserted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here