Home News Headlines

Fate of four Trinamool MLAs remain uncertain

IMPHAL, October 28: The final hearing for disqualification case of Trinamool Congress MLAs Kh Joykishan of Thangmeiband Assembly Constituency, Th Biswajit of Thongju Assembly Constituency, O Lukhoi of Wangoi Assembly Constituency and K Sarat of Konthoujam Assembly Constituency was held today at the Manipur Legislative Assembly Tribunal.

According to sources, the hearing which began from 10.30 am was held behind close door at the office of the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly today without allowing entry to any outsiders.

This being the case, till 3 pm today no information was made available to reporters who were waiting for news coverage.

Except for MLA K Sarat of Konthoujam Assembly Constituency, no respondent MLAs were seen coming to the tribunals even though their counsels represented them.

Sources also said that the hearing of the case filed by MLA Shyamkumar against MLA Kh Joykishan and MLA Th Bishorjit was held today, but it has been adjourned and will continue tomorrow.

Meanwhile, the tribunals has also conducted the final hearing of case No:4 and heard the arguments of the counsels for the MLAs in the office of the Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly Secretariat.

It may be recalled this hearing was adjourned yesterday and rescheduled today.

The verdict, however, remained unpronounced.

The sources further said that hearing of case No:7 against MLA K Sarat has been fixed on November 11, and case No:8 filed by Kim Gangte against Dr Ibohalbi will be conducted on November 13.

It is learnt that K Sarat has sought time to replace his counsel, and Dr Ibohalbi is presently out of station.

It may be mentioned that the cases had been filed against the said four MLAs by the State Trinamool president, Th Shyamkumar and Kim Gangte, demanding disqualification on the ground of anti-party activities.

The four MLAs have been charged of defection, and the petitioners pleaded the Tenth Schedule of the Indian Constitution be invoked to disqualify them.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version