Home News Headlines

11 candidates in fray for AMBA election on May 25

IMPHAL, May 23: Altogether 11 candidates including a woman advocate will be contesting in the election of All Manipur Bar Association (AMBA), the oldest bar association of the state scheduled to be held on May 25.

The election is to be held to elect new office bearers including one post of president, vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary of the association for the term 2015-17.

Three candidates namely H Chandrajit Sharma, A Indrakumar Singh and M Nilachandra Singh will be contesting for the post of president while L Manaobi Singh, Y Priyokumar Singh and L Nutankumar will be contesting for the post of vice-president.

For the post of general secretary, two candidates namely B Supriya Devi and N Ojit Singh will be contesting while Md Rabi Khan, W Harendra Singh and A Nilakumar Singh will be contesting for the post of joint secretary.

Polling of the election will begin at 8 am and end at 3 pm. Casting of vote to be held at the office of the association will be done in two polling booths using ballot paper. Counting of vote will be started just after the end of casting of vote.

A total of 1054 advocates would be casting their votes in the election.

It may be mentioned here that earlier the election was scheduled to be held today but later rescheduled on May 25 due to the imposition of state-wide general strike.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version