16 banks eligible for handling business, deposits for 2016-17


IMPHAL, July 8: A total of 16 banks are eligible for handling business and deposits of SPSUs and SLASs, local bodies and other statutory and non-statutory bodies under the control of Government of Manipur for the year 2016-17.

As informed by DIPR in a press release, the banks are Bank of Maharastra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, HDFC Bank, Industrial Development Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, State bank of India, Syndicate Bank, United Bank of India, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India, Manipur Rural Bank, Imphal Urban Cooperative Bank Ltd, Manipur Cooperative Bank Ltd, Moirang Primary Cooperative Bank and Manipur Women Cooperative Bank.

The eligible criteria are based on meeting at least one of the following performance till March 31 last i.e. CD ratio – at least 40 percent as on March 31; Annual Credit Plan (ACP) – minimum achievement of 75 percent of the target for the Financial Year 2015-16 and Priority Sector Advance – at least 50 percent of the target for the priority sector lending under ACP 2015-16.

A DBT Cell has been set up in the state which will be headed by the Additional Chief Secretary (Finance). It is set up to coordinate efforts at the State level in taking the DBT initiative forward.

DBT Cell will act as the focal point for implementation of DBT in the schemes of Ministry/Department including State Government schemes and will primarily involve re-engineering of schemes for simpler flow of funds and information, creation of online MIS portal and development of suitable IT applications. The DBT Cell will work for facilitating transition of Government schemes on the DBT platform and in addition, will also function as the research unit to explore possibility of using ICT for better service delivery across range of Government services in the State, added the orders.

As per an order issued by the Deputy Secretary (Finance), the state government constituted a committee on Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) comprising of State officials under the chairmanship of the Chief Secretary. The Additional Chief Secretary (Finance) is the Member Secretary and Principal Secretaries of Labour & Employment, Animal Husbandary & Veterinary, Sericulture, Social Welfare, MOBC and Commissioners of Tribal Affairs & Hills, MAHUD, CAF & PD Health, Commerce and Industries, IT, Horticulture and Secretaries of Agriculture, Education-S, and Fisheries are the members of the Committee.

The Committee will monitor developments related to DBT implementation and chalk out action plan to incorporate the DBT architecture as integral part of service delivery across various welfare and subsidy schemes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here